Las Olimpiadas have begun!

Yes, the 2012 Olympics in London have begun, with much fanfare and a Mr. Bean appearance.  But more importantly (because I don’t have a TV), so have Las Olimpiadas de Cartagenito!

The athletes, having trained long and hard, were eager to begin the competitions.

Sassy!

They listened attentively to their coaches and stretched their muscles in anticipation of the great feats of athleticism they were about to undertake.

Behind the scenes, official Olympic artists worked feverishly to complete the Olympics-themed flags and banners that would later decorate the facilities.

Before the games commenced, the athletes swore the Olympic Oath.

“I promise to behave very well”

And when the moment finally came to show what they were made of, they crushed the former records and the competition (neither of which actually existed) and each did it with his or her own special flare.

The Frog Leap

The Split

The Look of Determination

The “Wave Your Hands Like You Just Don’t Care”

“I get by with a little help from my friends”

After claiming victory, the athletes celebrated with their friends.

And finally, they napped like champions.

Full Disclosure:

The Cartagenito Olympics are currently taking place at the daycare center at Actuar Por Bolivar, a non-profit organization here in Cartagena that serves the people of the Canapote barrio.  Actuar Por Bolivar’s primary function is to provide microloans to small business owners in the barrio so that they can invest in and grow their businesses.  They believe in an integrated, community-driven approach, so they also provide free services like financial advisory, career training, childcare services, a Habitat For Humanity-like program to rebuild and refurbish homes, and more.

I am currently volunteering for Actuar Por Bolivar, so look out for more posts of adorable children and touching microfinance success stories soon.

19 comments

  1. Pingback: Piso Saludable: Foundations for Success – Soulshine Traveler

  2. What a fantastic post, Meghan! So adorable and working with kids is awesome! It’s the best part of my volunteer work and this looks like something I would have had a complete ball with. So rewarding…Good for you!

  3. Precious post Meghan! How wonderful that you are working with these kids. They need it so bad and it is a great way to make a difference in a child’s life! Can’t wait to hear more! 🙂

    • They really are beautiful little people! And so darn sweet. Although, at lunch the other day, a table full of little boys were whispering and staring at me. I walked over and they asked me what I assume they were discussing: “Are you a man or a woman?” I assured them I was female and walked away wondering if I’d made a terrible choice of clothing that day.

  4. Esto es lo mas bello! Look at those beautiful children! Keep doing the great work your doing! Volunteering in my opinion is one of the things that has made my travels really full experiences.

    • I completely agree, Mechasketch. It has been the best way for me to immerse myself in new places, to make friends, to improve my language abilities. And who doesn’t love to hang out with a bunch of adorable, giggly, happy children? Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

