Capture the Colour

I’m sure it comes as no surprise to my usual readers that I am a color fanatic.  I root it out no matter where I am, though usually I’m drawn to places that wear it right on the surface.  As part of the Capture the Colour competition with Travel Supermarket, I have selected five photographs from my travels to represent five particular colors:  blue, green, yellow, white, and red.   Enjoy the photos and wish me luck!

Blue:

Jerusalem, Israel:  This city had nearly as much blue as Greece, which isn’t surprising considering their shared Mediterranean roots.  Blue is the color of water and clear skies, and brings to mind a fresh sea breeze, something in short supply in a desert city.  This small shop in the center of the Old City was full of beautiful blue and white Armenian pottery, and the owner was a kind young Palestinian man who was thrilled to be able to practice his English with me and the cute Greek woman reflected in the mirror above.

Green:

Jerusalem, Israel:  I don’t mean to over-do the Jerusalem theme, but is there a city more full of contradiction, conflict, beauty, and color in the whole world?  This alley in the Christian Quarter was as tranquil as the aqua-green walls that lined it, despite being in the (sometimes volatile) center of a historic blend of cultures and beliefs.  In the backdrop, you see the dome of an Orthodox Christian church.  In the foreground, a sign written in Arabic.  And somewhere in between, a conservative Jewish woman walks by in the shadows of so much history.

Yellow:

Cartagena, Colombia:  These brightly colored women are Palenqueras, reigning from the mysterious and unique town of Palenque.  Most of the residents of Palenque are descendents of African slaves, and they still use their own language, maintain their own style of music and dance, and are known to practice a sort of voodoo, according to local legend.  In Cartagena, they make a living taking photos with tourists in their brilliant dresses and selling tropical fruits and candies.

White:

Cuzco, Peru:  This may look like snow at first glance, but these are in fact salt mines on the outskirts of Cuzco, Peru.  Each square is owned by a different person or family, and consists of a hard layer of white crystallized salt covered in a thin layer of warm salt water.  I was surprised to find that the water was warm to the touch, unusual given that it appeared to be flowing down from nearby snow-capped mountains.  At a small tienda nearby, you could purchase plastic baggies of Flor de Sal (flower of salt) for an inflated price.

Red:

Moscow, Russia:  Everyone expects to see a lot of red in Moscow (what with the communism and all).  In fact, the Russian words for ¨red¨ and ¨beautiful¨ are nearly the same (¨krasniy¨ and ¨krasiviy¨).  What I didn’t expect to see was a bright crimson Spiderman wandering aimlessly around Revolutionary Square amid tourists and tributes to the past.  Epic photobomb.

And to complete the Capture the Colour competition, I’d like to nominate five other bloggers to take part in the challenge:  

The Adventures of Mona

The Thirdeyeworld

Loni Found Herself

Peach, Plum, Orange

Beautiful Geometry

Find more info here:  http://www.travelsupermarket.com/c/holidays/capture-the-colour/

43 comments

  1. Mariposa

    Your photos are beautiful! But, all residents of Cartagena are not just “descendants of African slaves”. In the US, I am basically considered a mulatta (caramel skin, soft wavy hair, etc,). While I’m sure my ancestors were African slaves, they were also Native Americans and white Spaniards. Not just “descendants of Africans”. We are COLOMBIANS. And I am not sure where you got your information from, but around 90% of people in Cartagena speak pure Spanish, not SOME AFRICAN language. But SPANISH, as they are HISPANIC/LATINO regardless of skin color.

    • Hi Mariposa, I think there must be a misunderstanding here of what I wrote about Las Palenqueras. Vivi en Cartagena casi 6 meses del año pasado, y estoy consciente de la diversidad en Colombia. Me refería sólo a la población de San Basilio de Palenque. El palenquero es una lengua criolla que se habla allá, y entiendo que la gente de allí mantienen muchas tradiciones africanas también. He escrito mucho sobre Colombia y Cartagena, y creo que puedes ver en mis otros artículos que tengo una buena comprensión de la cultura colombiana, por lo menos en la costa. Espero que vuelvas a leer lo que escribí para que no haya malentendidos. Gracias.

  2. this is beautiful, is an explosion of colors! I invite you in my beautiful Puglia (Italy), so you can enjoy the wonder of our nature, the beauty of the landscapes and the amazing range of colors that will offer you this small world!

  3. Reblogged this on PC Tipster's Blog and commented:
    As you know I’m very much into photography…not only does this person take great photos, take a look at the use color which you can use not only in photography, but in designs be they graphic, interior, or as an inspiration for your future artwork.

  4. Pingback: Travel: Capture The Colors In Five Takes… | Mirth and Motivation

  5. R

    The fact that we have made so many colorful memories together gives me hope. We do dream in color. I love the photographs you selected and the stories behind them. More than anything, I love exploring the world with you.

  6. This is beautiful. I love the idea behind the shots. I also must admit that I’m a fan of color myself! Coincidentally I wrote a post about the color red in the Russian culture, and since red is the protagonist of your photograph of Russia, then I’m pretty sure you’d be interested to read more about it 😀 hahah check it out if you dare call yourself a color fanatic! http://innamazing.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/russian-red/ btw, you got a lovely blog.

    • Thanks for the link, Inna! I’m looking forward to checking it out. Russia was one of the most surprisingly colorful places I’ve been, and I love sharing that fact with people who haven’t yet visited.

    • Thanks stacaleigh! That’s one of my favorite photos of mine as well. It was actually a really cool moment, talking to someone who has lived through a lot of conflict in his relatively short life and bonding over simple things… like pretty blue ceramics. 🙂

  7. Amazing entry Meghan! I love them all especially the yellow and green! Thx also for nominating me! I did this on thirdeyemom but not thirdeyeworld. Perhaps I will give it another whirl!

      • Thanks Meghan! If you go to the top of my blog and do a search under Capture the Color I think you will find it. If not, let me know. I need to do a huge revamp of my blog and organize all my posts better so they are easier to find. I’m working on it! 🙂

    • Thanks a lot Kiki! I had so many Jerusalem photos I wanted to include, but felt like I should keep it diverse. I hope you get to travel there some day! It’s definitely worth the trip.

Leave a Reply

