First days in Tbilisi

Before I get into my travel and arrival to Tbilisi, allow me to get all of the honky Georgia references out of my system before the temptation to employ them in any other context becomes too great:

I’ve got Georgia on my mind!  

Well I declare, I’m now a Georgia peach!  

I took the Midnight Train to Georgia!  

The Devil Went Down to Georgia, and took me with him!  

I’m ready for that Sweet Southern (Caucasus) Comfort!  

I’m a Good Ol’ Rebel!  (Too far?)

Georgia Peach

Phew.  Glad that’s out of the way.

Cross-continental travel always reminds me of the value of things I take for granted on a daily basis.  First, it reconnects me with the sheer joy of brushing one’s teeth after 24 hours of muddled airplane coffee and Trident chewing gum (thank you, Turkish Airlines, for providing a complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste on the flight to Istanbul).  Second, sleep.  Blessed, joyous sleep.  I don’t think there is anything more divine than finally falling asleep in a bed after being awake for thirty-six hours.  Third, a hard-learned lesson: not drinking water does bad things to your body.

If I haven’t done so already, I need to express how much I love Turkish Airlines.  Complimentary travel accessories, free headphones and bottled water, cute little bags of apricots and hazelnuts, good food, and real silverware.  The flight attendants are consistently beautiful regardless of gender (yes, I’m betraying my superficiality here, but long flights are boring and I need something to stare at while I’m failing to fall sleep).  And perhaps most importantly, this.

After a seven hour layover in Istanbul (a city I’ve never visited, though it eternally teases me with overnight layovers), I took a short flight to Tbilisi.   I could see only snow-capped mountains through the window.  Sadly I forgot to take a photo.

The next morning, I went to work bright and early.  Returning to an office was much more gratifying than I expected.  I felt like a part of my self was restored after a year and a half of (sort of) unemployment.  I did all sorts of grown up things: wore a suit, opened a bank account, got a set of business cards (one side in English, the other in Georgian), and went on a lunch break with the boss, during which we ate something like eight plates of traditional Georgian food (khachapuri, khinkali, and mountains of cheese).  I didn’t need to eat again for another 24 hours.  Seriously.

All free time has been spent sleeping, reading, and finishing writing assignments, so I haven’t seen much of the city yet.  But I was lucky enough to catch a brilliant sunset from the balcony of my apartment.  So for now, I leave you with Tbilisi, on fire.

Tbilisi sunset

33 comments

  1. Hello! I really like this section on Georgia! Would you mind if I used these pictures to draw from life? You see, I can’t travel there myself and I enjoy Georgia’s landscape and its people. When I post my work, I’ll be sure to credit you with your name. Please let me know when you can. Thanks! ^-^

  2. Wow, what a great first day. 😀 You already sound so settled! And what a beautiful photograph. ❤ … Turkish Airlines sound friggin' amazing! My God! Totally flying with them next time if they have my route.

  3. Roxanne

    I’m sitting at my favorite cafe by campus, and I’m missing you deeply. The closest I can get to you is by reading your blog right now. I’m thrilled you are happy and growing and learning and making a home; and yet, I still reserve the right to miss you terribly. I love you, twin.

    • Right to miss each other terribly: granted. But we are eternally eating banana bread pudding in a photo on my nightstand, if that alleviates the Twin Separation Anxiety. 😉 How I wish you could be here!

  4. Dave

    Are you near Atlanta?
    Do you have a Southern accent yet?

    Sorry…enough of that.

    The Turkish Airlines commercial is “Super Bowl – worthy.”

    Have a great time…maybe some ups and downs, but you’re experienced and will focus on the positives.

  5. It’s funny how you headed to Istanbul only a few days after I left the city. And since you mentioned Turkish Airlines, I’ve got something to say about them. Their food was great and the amenities were really nice. You know, when I was in Istanbul there was one time I switched the TV channel to a Georgian channel with its curvy alphabets. At first I didn’t recognize it, but when the host said “Sakartvelo” I knew it was Georgia. 🙂 Have a great time in Tbilisi!

    • I just noticed that! I absolutely loved your post on Istanbul, by the way. It made me kick myself for not schedule a few days stop there. But I’m sure I’ll be taking a long weekend trip some time soon.

  6. Ah, ice cream! Gotta love it! Now I’m going to plan a trip JUST so I can fly Turkish Airlines. Okay, so the destination will be fun also. In any event, thanks for allowing me a glimpse into Tbilisi! I’m enjoying the pleasure of living vicariously through you, Meghan. 😉

  7. Sincerely, LaKesh

    This was a great post. I am currently living in Macedonia and my mouth waters at the sound of Istanbul. I can not wait to go there. I will be sure to keep you posted.

  8. Meghan! You made it. I can’t wait to read about your Georgian (and) microfinance adventures.

    You must visit Istanbul. I had the most wonderful fish dinner when I visited. (The meal was so good that it’s the only thing I can remember about Istanbul. Blue Mosque? What’s that?)

  9. Moe

    Glad to hear you are getting settled!! Keep the posts coming so we know how you are doing..(thats not a request it’s a demand..haha)

Leave a Reply

