My Georgian 4th of July

Happy 4th of July to all of my American friends and family!

Sadly, I never realized how special this day was to me until I spent my first Independence Day outside of the States.  It’s a day I associate with hotdogs, volleyball, Sandlot, sparklers, fireflies, laughter, swimming, beeritas, red, white, blue, and family.  I missed out on the majority of those delights, but Georgia served as a pretty good substitute.

My first pleasant surprise was being greeted at the office on Thursday with hugs, kisses, and many iterations of “Congratulations on your country’s independence!”, as if it had happened yesterday.

I spent the evening at my second home, Dive Bar, run by a few Peace Corps vets and their Georgian loved ones.  A French friend presented me with a collection of celebratory stickers of American flags and Uncle Sams, and a Barack Obama t-shirt.  I ate a hot dog.  I met up with two Georgian classmates from Harvard.  I played beer pong.  I heard some fireworks, though I failed to actually see them.  I was accosted by a Texan who yelled “I hate America!” and told me that “people like you” are destroying third world countries.  It was a great night.

4th of July

12 comments

  1. Hello, Cheerio

    This is great. I love that you were able to have such good people around you for such a fun holiday. Soon I’ll be experiencing the same, spending American holidays outside of the states as I’m moving to England. It’ll be odd I’m sure, but I’m kind of looking forward to seeing how I adapt and celebrate in the smaller ways. I’m a new follower of your blog, I love reading about your adventures and seeing your bucket list; it’s all quite inspiring. Cheers!

  2. Belated Happy Independence Day. 🙂 I always remember being in Mexico last year, one of my students said, “Are you doing anything for America’s independence day?” I was like, “Er, no … It’s the US celebrating independence from us.” And he said, “But you should celebrate because you no longer have to be responsible for them.” Hahaha. Awwww, love the US.

  3. E.

    This makes me so happy. When I lived abroad, the hardest part wasn’t the culture shock, of every day life, but the missed holidays, or the ways our cultures celebrated them differently. You have great friends to help you celebrate 4th of July like we would back here in the States!

Leave a Reply

